Removing the info share

From NAS-Central Buffalo - The Linkstation Wiki
Revision as of 15:44, 30 June 2007 by Andre (Talk | contribs) (With sed: sed code changes)

Jump to: navigation, search

Why this article?

On the original and modified stockfirmwares we always have a some default shares. The normal "share" is not the problem, but "info" is as you cannot get rid of it. This article describes how to deal with that problem.

LS1/LS2/HG/HS with Openlink

Description of the mechanism



Automatic removal of the info share

Disabling updating of smb.conf

there already is another article about this!

LSPro/LSLive with stock or modified stock firmware

Description of the mechanism



getting access with acp_commander!!

With sed

cp -a /etc/samba/smb.conf /etc/samba/smb.orig

sed '/^\[info\]/,/guest ok = yes/d ; /^###info###/d' /etc/samba/smb.orig > /etc/samba/smb.conf

Paste that after line 20 in the /etc/init.d/ - info share is removed on restart, and every restart thereafter.

With a perl script



Extract tarball ([1]) to /

Add the following line to "/etc/init.d/" after "/usr/local/sbin/nas_configgen -c samba":


Configure SMB through the WebUI as normal.

Tarball Contents: